Men's Golf Advances to NCAA Championship

Men's Golf Advances to NCAA Championship

INDIANAPOLIS--- The NCAA Division III Men's Golf Committee has announced the
teams  and  individuals  selected  to  participate  in  the  2013  NCAA  Division  III  Men's Golf Championships and Southwestern University earned a Pool B berth. 

This is the first national tournament bid for the Pirate men. 

The championships will be held May 14-17, at the Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, in Destin, Florida.  The championships will be hosted by Methodist University.

A total of 210 participants will compete at the 2013 championships.  Thirty conferences were awarded automatic qualification for the championships.   Four teams were selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions, and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. The final seven berths were reserved for Pool C, which are institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion and any remaining Pool B teams.  The top five individuals are selected from the remaining players who have not qualified with a team.

Oglethorpe University defeated Transylvania University to claim its second national title in school history at the 2012 NCAA Division III Men's Golf National Championships.  Anthony Maccaglia, of Oglethorpe, shot a 6-under 282 to take home the top individual honors.  The championships were played at Mission Inn Resort in Howey-in-the-Hills, Florida, and hosted by the Central Florida Sports Commission. For more information about the NCAA Division III Golf Championships, log on to